Quiz Date: 5th March 2020

Q1. The 5th Ice Hockey Association of India (IHAI) National Ice Hockey Championship-2020 has begun in _____.

- (a) Mussoorie, Uttarakhand
- (b) Srinagar, Jammu and Kashmir
- (c) Leh, Ladakh
- (d) Nainital, Uttarakhand
- (e) Shimla, Himachal Pradesh

Q2. How many scientists have awarded Swarna Jayanti Fellowships by Union Ministry of Science and Technology?

- (a) 11 scientists
- (b) 12 scientists
- (c) 13 scientists
- (d) 14 scientists
- (e) 15 scientists

Q3. In which state observed his ritualistic festival "Lai Haraoba"?

- (a) Meghalaya
- (b) Tripura
- (c) Assam
- (d) Arunachal Pradesh
- (e) Himachal Pradesh

Q4. Who among the following was awarded the Global Bihar Excellence Award 2019?

- (a) Syed Zahoor Qasim
- (b) Prafulla Desai
- (c) Amritlal Nagar
- (d) Piyuus Jaiswal
- (e) Rani Gaidinliu

Q5. Name the helpline service recently launched by UPSRTC (Uttar Pradesh State Road Transport Corporation) for safety of the women passengers.

- (a) Yogita
- (b) Durga
- (c) Shivani
- (d) Damini
- (e) Nirbhaya

Q6. Who among the following is the present Union Minister of Defence?

- (a) Raj Nath Singh
- (b) Ravi Shankar Prasad

- (c) Harsimrat Kaur Badal
- (d) Thaawar Chand Gehlot
- (e) Subrahmanyam Jaishankar

Q7. Which of the following state became the 1st state in the country to pass a resolution against the Citizenship Amendment Act?

- (a) Andhra Pradesh
- (b) Kerala
- (c) Karnataka
- (d) Tamil Nadu
- (e) Telangana



ппа

- Q8. Who among the following is the present Union Minister of Home Affairs?
- (a) Ramesh Pokhriyal 'Nishank'
- (b) Amit Shah
- (c) Arjun Munda
- (d) Smriti Zubin Irani
- (e) Harsh Vardhan

Q9. What is the name of Eminent Assamese dramatist, litterateur and social activist who has passed away recently?

- (a) K B Siddaiah
 (b) K P S Menon
 (c) Ratna Ojha
 (d) H L Trivedi
- (e) Kadri Gopalnath
- L1Difficulty 2
- QTags Obituaries

Q10. Who among the following is the present Union Minister of Road Transport and Highways?

- (a) Prakash Javadekar
- (b) Piyush Goyal
- (c) Nitin Jairam Gadkari

- (d) Dharmendra Pradhan
- (e) Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi

Q11. Government of India signed MoU with ______ for selling the products made by women self-help groups under Deendayal Antyodaya Yojana-National Urban Livelihoods Mission (DAY-NULM) on the e-commerce platform.

- (a) Myntra
- (b) Alibaba
- (c) Amazon
- (d) Flipkart
- (e) Snapdeal

Q12. Who among the following is the present Union Minister of Finance?

- (a) Gajendra Singh Shekhawat
- (b) Giriraj Singh
- (c) Mahendra Nath Pandey
- (d) Nirmala Sitharaman
- (e) Pralhad Joshi

Q13. Who among the following is the present President of Ice Hockey Association of India?

- (a) K Natrajan
- (b) V K Johri
- (c) Anup Kumar Singh
- (d) K. L. Kumar
- (e) Datta Padsalgikar

Q14. Who among the following is the present Union Minister of Chemicals and Fertilizers?

- (a) Santosh Kumar Gangwar
- (b) Rao Inderjit Singh
- (c) Shripad Yesso Naik
- (d) Jitendra Singh
- (e) D. V. Sadananda Gowda

Q15. The Union Ministry of Science and Technology have awarded Swarna Jayanti Fellowships. Who is the present Union Minister of Science and Technology?

- (a) Smriti Zubin Irani
- (b) Subrahmanyam Jaishankar
- (c) Harsh Vardhan
- (d) Ravi Shankar Prasad
- (e) Harsimrat Kaur Badal

Solutions

S1. Ans.(c)

Sol. The 5th Ice Hockey Association of India (IHAI) National Ice Hockey Championship -2020 has begun in Leh, Ladakh.

S2. Ans.(d)

Sol. The Union Ministry of Science and Technology have awarded Swarna Jayanti Fellowships to 14 scientists to pursue basic research in frontier areas of science and technology.

S3. Ans.(b)

Sol. In Tripura, Lai Haraoba, a ritualistic festival observed by Manipuri meitei communities began in Agartala.

S4. Ans.(d)

Sol. Piyuus Jaiswal was awarded the Global Bihar Excellence Award 2019. This award was presented by Rajya Sabha MP and Padma Shri Awardee Dr CP Thakur and Bihar Women Commission president Dilmani Devi in Patna to promote women empowerment.

S5. Ans.(d)

Sol. UPSRTC (Uttar Pradesh State Road Transport Corporation) has launched 'Damini' helpline service considering the safety of the women passengers. As the extension of 'Nirbhaya Yojana' the unique number "81142-77777" has been subscribed for this helpline.

S6. Ans.(a)

Sol. Rajnath Singh is an Indian politician serving as the Defence Minister of India.

S7. Ans.(b)

Sol. Kerala became the 1st state in the country to pass a resolution against the Citizenship Amendment Act. The resolution was moved by Kerala's Chief Minister Pinarayee Vijayan and was seconded by the Leader of Opposition Ramesh Chennithala.

S8. Ans.(b)

Sol. Amit Anilchandra Shah is an Indian politician serving as the current Minister of Home Affairs.

S9. Ans.(c)

Sol. Eminent Assamese dramatist, litterateur and social activist Ratna Ojha passed away. He had introduced street plays in Assam in 1971 with his skit 'Kokaideo' to revive the theatre movement in the state that was fading with the death of his mentor Phani Sarma.

S10. Ans.(c)

Sol. Nitin Jairam Gadkari is an Indian politician, who is the current Minister for Road Transport & Highways of India.

S11. Ans.(d)

Sol. Government of India signed MoU with Flipkart for selling the products made by women self-help groups under Deendayal Antyodaya Yojana-National Urban Livelihoods Mission (DAY-NULM) on the e-commerce platform.

S12. Ans.(d)

Sol. Nirmala Sitharaman is an Indian politician serving as the current Minister of Finance and Corporate Affairs of India.

S13. Ans.(d)

Sol. The Ice Hockey Association of India (IHAI) is the governing body of ice hockey in India. The current President of the Association is K. L. Kumar.

S14. Ans.(e)

Sol. Devaragunda Venkappa Sadananda Gowda is an Indian politician serving as the Minister of Chemicals and Fertilizers.

S15. Ans.(c)

Sol. Harsh Vardhan is the incumbent minister at Ministry of Science & Technology, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare and Ministry of Earth Sciences.

