Quiz Date: 22nd August 2020

- Q1. The World Bank has approved a \$500 million for Strengthening Teaching-Learning and Results for States Program (STARS) to improve the quality and governance of school education in six Indian states. Name the present president of World Bank.
- (a) Paul Wolfowitz
- (b) Robert Zoellick
- (c) David Malpass
- (d) Kristalina Georgieva
- (e) Jim Yong Kim
- Q2. Gudni Th. Johannesson has been re-elected as the President of Iceland. What is the capital of Iceland?
- (a) Reykjavik
- (b) Akureyri
- (c) Hafnarfjordur
- (d) Selfoss
- (e) Kópavogur
- Q3. Swiggy has launched its digital wallet 'Swiggy Money' in partnership with ICICI Bank to provide users with a single-click checkout experience. Who among the following is the present CEO of Swiggy?
- (a) Yashoda Bhandari
- (b) B. Das Gupta
- (c) Tuffan Gazmer
- (d) Sriharsha Majety
- (e) Rajeev Sharma



- Q4. Chakravarthi Rangarajan has been conferred with the first Prof. P C Mahalanobis Award in Official Statistics for lifetime achievements for his contribution in providing solutions in the issues related to the estimation of national income. Name the present chairman of the National Statistical Commission (NSC).
- (a) R.K. Sonkar
- (b) Roel Lepcha
- (c) Bimal Kumar Roy
- (d) B.K. Thapa
- (e) Pankaj Srivastava
- Q5. The 36th edition of the biannual ASEAN (Association of Southeast Asian Nations) Summit 2020 was held via video conferencing in Vietnam. What is the capital of Vietnam?
- (a) Hue
- (b) Hanoi
- (c) Dalat

- (d) Bien Hoa
- (e) Vinh
- Q6. The National Doctor's Day is celebrated in India every year on
- (a) 5th July
- (b) 4th July
- (c) 3rd July
- (d) 2nd July
- (e) 1st July
- Q7. National Chartered Accountants Day or CA Day is celebrated on July 1 every year to commemorate the finding of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of India (ICAI) by the parliament of India in 1949. Name the present president of ICAI.
- (a) Mangesh S. Kumbhare
- (b) Rajendra Nath Tiyu
- (c) Prafulla Chandra Pradhan
- (d) Atul Kumar Gupta
- (e) Avinash Sharma



- Q8. Ravinder Bhakar took charge as the new Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Central Board of Films Certification (CBFC). Name the present chairperson of Central Board of Films Certification.
- (a) Sharmila Tagore
- (b) Anupam Kher
- (c) Leela Samson
- (d) Pahlaj Nihalani
- (e) Prasoon Joshi
- Q9. International Cricket Council (ICC) Chairman, Shashank Manohar has stepped down as the head of the cricket body after two-year tenures. Where is the Headquarters of ICC?
- (a) Dubai, United Arab Emirates
- (b) Geneva, Switzerland
- (c) Paris, France
- (d) London, UK

- (e) Brussels, Belgium
- Q10. Shrikant Madhav Vaidya took charge as the new chairman of Indian Oil Corporation (IOC). In which of the following year Indian Oil Corporation was established?
- (a) 1957
- (b) 1958
- (c) 1959
- (d) 1960
- (e) 1961
- Q11. The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC) has approved the appointment of Professor Sanjay Dwivedi as the Director General of the Indian Institute of Mass Communication (IIMC). Where is the headquarters of Indian Institute of Mass Communication?
- (a) Jaipur
- (b) New Delhi
- (c) Dehradun
- (d) Lucknow
- (e) Mumbai
- Q12. Pakistan Army has appointed Major General Nigar Johar as 1st female lieutenant general. Name the present president of Pakistan.
- (a) Arif Alvi
- (b) Asif Ali Zardari
- (c) Mamnoon Hussain
- (d) Pervez Musharraf
- (e) Muhammad Rafiq Tarar



- Q13. Union Minister for Fisheries, Animal Husbandry and Dairying, Giriraj Singh has launched the 1st Edition newsletter "Matsya Sampada" fisheries and aquaculture. Who among the following is the present Minister of State in the Ministry of Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries?
- (a) Anurag Singh Thakur
- (b) Nityanand Rai
- (c) Angadi Suresh Channabasappa
- (d) Dhotre Sanjay Shamrao
- (e) Sanjeev Kumar Balyan
- Q14. The Delhi government will set up a first-of-its-kind 'plasma bank' in the country to treat COVID-19 patients. In which of the following Wildlife Sanctuary is situated in Delhi?
- (a) Kane wildlife sanctuary
- (b) Asola-Bhatti Wildlife Sanctuary
- (c) Amchang Wildlife Sanctuary
- (d) Chakrashila Wildlife Sanctuary

(e) Laokhowa Wildlife Sanctuary

Q15. National Postal Worker Day is observed on ______ every year.

- (a) 20th July
- (b) 15th July
- (c) 10th July
- (d) 01st July
- (e) 31st July

Solutions

S1. Ans.(c)

Sol. David Malpass is the present president of World Bank.

S2. Ans.(a)

Sol. Reykjavík is the capital and largest city of Iceland. It is located in southwestern Iceland, on the southern shore of Faxaflói bay.

S3. Ans.(d)

Sol. Sriharsha Majety is the Co-Founder and CEO at Swiggy.

S4. Ans.(c)

Sol. The NSC is currently headed by Prof. Bimal K. Roy who was appointed as Chairperson of the Commission on 15th July 2019 for a period of three years.

S5. Ans.(b)

Sol. Hanoi is the capital city of Vietnam. It is the second largest city in Vietnam.

S6. Ans.(e)

Sol. The National Doctor's Day is celebrated in India every year on 1st July. Indian Medical Association (IMA) celebrates the day every year to recognise the invaluable work done by doctors and physicians and thank them for their dedicated service.

S7. Ans.(d)

Sol. Atul Kumar Gupta has been elected as President of The Institute of Chartered Accountants of India for the term 2020-21 on 12th February 2020.

S8. Ans.(e)

Sol. Prasoon Joshi is the present chairperson of Central Board of Films Certification.

S9. Ans.(a)

Sol. Dubai, United Arab Emirates is the Headquarters of ICC.

S10. Ans.(c)

Sol. Indian Oil Corporation was established in 1959.

S11. Ans.(b)

Sol. New Delhi is the headquarters of Indian Institute of Mass Communication.

S12. Ans.(a)

Sol. Arif Alvi is the present president of Pakistan.

S13. Ans.(e)

Sol. Sanjeev Kumar Balyan is the present Minister of State in the Ministry of Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries

S14. Ans.(b)

Sol. Asola-Bhatti Wildlife Sanctuary lies at the far southern edge of the city of Delhi, at Asola near Tughlaqabad in the Delhi National Capital Territory of India.

S15. Ans.(d)

Sol. National Postal Worker Day is observed on 1st July every year. This day is celebrated to the recognition of postal workers across the world.

