Quiz Date: 29<sup>th</sup> August 2020

Q1. The Indian Agricultural Research Institute (IARI), Jharkhand new administrative and the academic building have been named after Bharatiya Jan Sangh founder Late Dr. Shyama Prasad Mukherjee on his 119th birth anniversary. In which of the following year Indian Agricultural Research Institute (IARI) was established?

- (a) 1900
- (b) 1910
- (c) 1905
- (d) 1915
- (e) 1920

Q2. 'Bhavishya' savings account has been launched by the Fino Payments Bank Limited for minors aged between 10-18 years. In which year Fino Payments Bank Limited was established? (a) 2008

- (b) 2000
- (c) 2011 (c) 2014
- (d) 2015
- (e) 2017
- (0) 2017

Q3. The Karur Vysya Bank (KVB) has entered into a partnership with Star Health and Allied Insurance Co to provide a wide range of health insurance options to its customers. Name the present chairman of Karur Vysya Bank.

addaa

- (a) **B.** Ramesh Babu
- (b) N. S. Srinath
- (c) V. G. Mohan Prasad
- (d) M. K. Venkatesan
- (e) A. K. Praburaj

Q4. SBM Bank (India) Ltd has partnered with Mastercard to revolutionize domestic and crossborder payments and remittances services. Where is the headquarters of SBM Bank?

- (a) Port Louis, Mauritius
- (b) Brasilia, Brazil
- (c) Seoul, South Korea
- (d) Stockholm, Sweden
- (e) Bern, Switzerland

Q5. Microsoft has partnered with the National Skill Development Corporation (NSDC) to offer digital skills to India's youth in the next 12 months amid the COVID-19 crisis. Name the present MD & CEO of National Skill Development Corporation.

- (a) Harshavardhan Raghunath
- (b) K. S. Ravichandran
- (c) Ramkumar

- (d) Manish Kumar
- (e) Srinivasamoorthi

Q6. Mobility platform Ola has entered into a partnership with digital payments platform PhonePe to expand payment options for riders. Who among the following is the present CEO of Ola?

- (a) Bhavish Aggarwal
- (b) Deepak Prasad
- (c) Madhulika Bhaskar
- (d) Suchita Gupta
- (e) Satyajit Tripathy

Q7. The Indian Coast Guard (ICG) and Bakamla RI (Indonesian Coast Guard) have signed a memorandum of understanding on 'Maritime Safety and Security' to boost maritime relations. What is the capital of Indonesia?

- (a) Bandung
- (b) Denpasar
- (c) Jakarta
- (d) Batu
- (e) Bekasi



Q8. Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank (AIIB) has released \$50 million loan to L&T Infrastructure Finance Ltd. Name the present President of Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank.

- (a) D. J. Pandian
- (b) Konstantin Limitovskiy
- (c) Danny Alexander
- (d) Jin Liqun
- (e) Joachim von Amsberg

Q9. According to the World Health Organisation's (WHO), South-East Asian Region (SEAR) office, Maldives and Sri Lanka were verified for having eliminated measles and rubella. What is the currency of the Maldives?

- (a) Ringgit
- (b) Yen
- (c) Krona

- (d) Rufiyaa
- (e) Rial

Q10. The United States has formalized to withdraw from the World Health Organization (WHO) on July 6, 2021. Who among the following is the present Headquarters of WHO?

- (a) Geneva, Switzerland
- (b) Mandaluyong, Philippines
- (c) New York, US
- (d) Geneva, Switzerland
- (e) Paris, France

Q11. The Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT) and the Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI) has signed an agreement for data exchange. Name the present Chairperson of CBDT.

- (a) Jayashree Ranade
- (b) Girija Subramanian
- (c) Pramod Chandra Mody
- (d) Sateesh N Bhat
- (e) Blessy Sequeira

Q12. Karur Vysya Bank has signed an agreement with Bajaj Allianz Life Insurance to offer life insurance solutions to its customers. Where is the headquarters of Bajaj Allianz Life Insurance?

adda

- (a) Pune
- (b) Bengaluru
- (c) Kolkata
- (d) Mumbai
- (e) Delhi

Q13. Mylab Discovery Solutions has launched the 'Compact XL' system for conducting a wide range of tests, including RT-PCR tests for COVID-19. Name the present MD of Mylab Discovery Solutions.

- (a) Paul Lobo
- (b) Hasmukh Rawal
- (c) Shailendra Kawade
- (d) Rajesh Khadatare
- (e) N. Ramaswamy

Q14. According to data from the Reserve Bank of India (RBI), Tamil Nadu has topped market borrowings among States in the country. Name the present Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu.

- (a) K. Palaniswami
- (b) Pinarayi Vijayan
- (c) V. Narayanasamy
- (d) K Chandrasekhar Rao

(e) PS Golay

Q15. The U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) and the Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE) has announced a partnership for clean energy development. Name the present Ministers of State (I/C) for New and Renewable Energy.

(a) Prahalad Singh Patel

(b) Mansukh L. Mandaviya

(c) Hardeep Singh Puri

(d) Raj Kumar Singh

(e) Jitendra Singh

## Solutions

S1. Ans.(c)

Sol. The Institute was originally established by the Government of India in 1905 at the village Pusa in north Bihar and relocated at New Delhi in 1936, the Indian Agricultural Research Institute (IARI) is the country's premier national Institute for agricultural research, education & extension.

S2. Ans.(e)

Sol. The Fino Payments Bank Limited was incorporated on 4th April, 2017 with the name Fino Payments Bank Limited.

S3. Ans.(b) Sol. N. S. Srinath is the present chairman of Karur Vysya Bank.

S4. Ans.(a) Sol. Port Louis, Mauritius is the headquarters of SBM Bank.

S5. Ans.(d) Sol. Manish Kumar is the present MD & CEO of National Skill Development Corporation.

S6. Ans.(a) Sol. Bhavish Aggarwal is an Indian entrepreneur, co-founder and CEO of Ola Cabs.

S7. Ans.(c)

Sol. Jakarta is the capital of Indonesia according to the Act Number 10 of 1964 Located on the island of Java.

S8. Ans.(d)

Sol. Jin Liqun is the inaugural President and Chairman of the Board of Directors.

S9. Ans.(d) Sol. The Maldivian rufiyaa is the currency of the Maldives.

S10. Ans.(a) Sol. Geneva, Switzerland is the present Headquarters of WHO.

S11. Ans.(c) Sol. Pramod Chandra Mody is the present Chairperson of CBDT.

S12. Ans.(a) Sol. Pune, Maharashtra is the headquarters of Bajaj Allianz Life Insurance.

S13. Ans.(b) Sol. Hasmukh Rawal is the present MD of Mylab Discovery Solutions.

S14. Ans.(a) Sol. K. Palaniswami is the present Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu.

S15. Ans.(d) Sol. Raj Kumar Singh is the present Ministers of State (I/C) for New and Renewable Energy.

